Trust Members

The strategic direction of the Southern Metropolitan Cemeteries Trust (SMCT) is overseen by a board of appointed Trust Members.
This board is responsible to the Minister for Health & Ageing and must ensure good governance of the cemeteries entrusted to its care. Members of the Trust are recruited through a publicly advertised process and are appointed by the Governor in Council for a three-year term. Members may seek to be reappointed after their first term.

2015 SMCT Trust Members - Chair - Sue Renkin

Sue Renkin - Trust Chairman

BBS, MBA, Grad.Dip.Corp.Gov., MAICD, FCDA.

Sue Renkin is Director of General Practice Victoria and GMHBA Health Insurance.

Sue’s board experience includes:

  • Chairman Victorian Centre for Sustainable Chemical Manufacturing
  • Chairman Green Chemical Futures
  • Chairman Monash Biomedical Imaging Institute Director GMHBA Health Insurance Director GPV
  • Chair of Monash Centre for Biomedical Imaging and Research
  • Chair of Monash Centre for Green Chemicals Future
  • Prime Minister’s representative on the Australian Bravery Decorations Council, since 1999
  • Member Australian Private Hospitals Association committee
  • Member St John Ambulance committee
  • Member Shelford Anglican Girls’ School committee.

Sue was CEO (Vic) and National Policy Development Manager for Ramsay Health Care for 11 years. She has also held CEO roles with Open Family Australia, St John Ambulance and Mercy Private Hospital.

Sue holds an MBA Monash Uni, Grad Dip Corporate Governance UNE and Grad Cert Competition & Strategy Harvard Business School RN

Julie Busch - Trust Member - SMCT - Southern Mentropolitan Cemeteries Trust

Julie Busch

B.A.(Journalism/Psych.),  Grad.Cert.Shop.Cen.Mgmt., Grad. Dip. Business,  MAICD

Julie Busch is Chairman of Dandenong Market and Director of Western Leisure Services for City of Wyndham.
Julie’s board experience also includes:

  • Director of Interact Australia
  • Director of Marriott Support Services
  • Deputy Chairman Dianella Community Health
  • Chairman Retail Committee Property Council

Julie has worked extensively in private and publicly owned retail property, local government and community sectors.

Julie has previously held senior management roles at:

  • Prahran Market
  • Melbourne Central Shopping Centre
  • Coles Myer Properties in Victoria and South Australia.

In addition to the above, Julie is also Vice President of Caulfield South Community House, Chairman of Judging Panel for the Tourism Victoria Marketing Awards, and a Fellow of the Australian Property Institute.

Phillip Davies

LLM (Monash), LLB (Hons), BA (Hons) Melbourne

Phillip is currently the Chief Executive Officer and General Counsel of Advanced Paediatric Life Support Australia.

Phillip’s Board experience includes:

  • Director of Queen Elizabeth Centre (a Victorian Public Hospital)
  • Governor of the MBAV Scholarship Fund
  • Member of the Board of Examiners for the Legal Profession in Victoria since 2008
  • Member of OLGC Finance Committee

Phillip was a partner of international law firm Mallesons Stephen Jaques from 1 July 1999 to 30 June 2013. He was a solicitor at Mallesons for 23 years.

He is Fellow of the Tax Institute of Australia.

He is a Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australia.

Phillip has a Postgraduate-Master of Laws degree (1996), Monash University and Undergraduate-Honours Law degree and Honours Arts degree at Melbourne.

Cr Felicity Frederico

BBus (Mktg), MAICD

Felicity is currently the Mayor of Bayside City Council, having been elected as a councillor in 2008. She has extensive marketing experience, specialising in developing and implementing business plans and marketing strategies.

She takes an active interest in her community and is a representative, delegate and patron on many boards, committees and organisations including:

  • Director of South Metro Junior Football League
  • Community representative Perinatal Services Advisory Committee
  • Member of Sandringham Hospital
  • Capital Campaign Steering Committee
  • President of Association of Bayside Municipalities
  • Executive Committee member of Australian Local Government Women's Association (Vic)
  • Chair of Bayside Tourism Network

Richard Jones

MBus., Grad.Dip.Bus.Tech., FCPA, ACSA, AFIN.

Richard Jones is semi-retired following a career in accounting, finance and governance. Richard spent the last 16 years in CFO, governance and corporate planning roles within Victorian local government. He retains his involvement in the sector through consultancy projects and membership of the Brimbank City Council audit committee.

Richard’s prior board experience in the Cemetery and Crematoria sector includes:

  • Member of the Lilydale Cemeteries Trust from 2007
  • Chair of the Lilydale Cemeteries Trust’s Administration and Audit Committee from 2008.

Richard also works in a number of local community volunteering roles.

Richard holds a Master of Business (RMIT) and a Graduate Diploma of Business Technology (Monash), and is a Fellow of CPA Australia (FCPA), an Associate of Chartered Secretaries Australia (ACSA) and an Associate of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia, (AFIN).

Gaye Mason

MBA, Grad.Dip.App.Corp.Gov., Grad.Dip.App.Info.Sys, B.Bus.(Acct.)

Gaye Mason is an experienced finance and governance professional having previously held positions with Telstra, including as Director Business Development Telstra Wholesale, and prior to that with a number of predominately telecommunications related organisations.

Gaye’s board experience includes:

  • Director of Central Highlands Water, where she also sits on the Audit and Customer Participation committees
  • Member of the Victorian Department of Health Audit and Risk Management Committee
  • Chair of the City of Port Phillip and the Wyndham Council Audit & Risk Committees
  • Member of Adult Multicultural Education Services (AMES) Audit and Risk Management Committee
  • Director of the International Women’s Development Agency (IWDA) Foundation
  • Past Victorian President, and board member, of CPA Australia.

Gaye holds a Bachelor of Business (Accounting) (RMIT University), a Graduate Diploma Applied Corporate Governance (Chartered Secretary), Graduate AICD Diploma course, Graduate Diploma Applied Information Systems (RMIT University), and a Master of Business Administration (Deakin University). She is also FCPA, FAICD, AGIA and ACIS.

Stephen Shipp

B.Ec., LL.B.

Stephen Shipp has more than 25 years experience as a solicitor in property, commercial law and deceased estates. He currently practices with Taylor Splatt & Partners.

Stephen is a member of the Law Institute of Victoria and the current president of the Mornington Peninsula Lawyers’ Association.

Stephen’s board experience includes:

  • Past president of the Rotary Club of Seaford-Carrum Downs
  • Past president of the Frankston Primary School Council
  • Past trust member of the Necropolis Springvale and chair of its Information Technology committee.

Stephen holds a Bachelor of Economics (Accounting), and a Bachelor of Law (Monash University).

2015 SMCT Trust Members - Matthew Mills

Matthew Mills


Matthew has extensive experience in Business Operations, Management and Development of large-scale entertainment, hospitality and retail within Australia and Europe.

Matthew has previously delivered and managed multisite Cinema megaplex operations, new chains of Supermarket stores, been BDM of an Australian network of advertising sites and is currently involved at Garden City Plastics, a major national manufacturer. In addition, while holding the role of General Manager, he has operated Multi outlet retail and hospitality sites in Vic and NSW.

Matthew's current board experience includes:

  • Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Trust
  • Trust for Nature Victoria
  • Chair of the Dandenong Ranges Gardens Advisory Committee for Parks Victoria.